
ADMINISTRATION
OF ESTATES 

IN MARYLAND

The purpose of this publication is to better inform the
general public of procedural matters involved in the

administration of estates. Nothing contained herein is
intended to advise anyone as to the legal remedies
for a particular circumstance. The Register of Wills
and employees may assist with the necessary forms
but cannot render legal advice. It is hoped that this
brochure will be useful to you in answering general

questions on how to proceed with the administration
of an estate.

For more information, visit us online:
https://registers.maryland.gov

EFFECTIVE FOR DATE OF DEATH ON OR AFTER
OCTOBER 1, 2023, UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED

PROPERTY SUBJECT TO INHERITANCE TAX
Property passing by Will or under laws of intestacy; 1.
An interest as a joint owner in any real or personal property,
including credit union, bank, or other financial  institution
accounts; 

2.

A material part of the decedent’s property transferred by the
decedent within two years of death (other than a bona fide sale)
in the nature of a final disposition or distribution, including any
transfer that resulted in joint ownership of property, if the
transfer is made in contemplation of death;

3.

Property over which the decedent retained any dominion at the
time of death, including a beneficial interest, a power of
revocation, or a power of appointment by Will or otherwise. This
includes trusts, payable on death or transfer on death accounts,
annuities or other public or private employee pension or benefit
plans that are taxable for federal estate tax purposes, life estates
and other interests less than absolute, in trust or otherwise.

4.

EXEMPTIONS FROM INHERITANCE TAX
For inheritance tax purposes only, the words below have the following
meanings: “child” includes a stepchild or former stepchild; “parent”
includes a stepparent or former stepparent; “surviving spouse” means
a surviving spouse who has not remarried.

Inheritance tax does not apply to the receipt of property that
passes to or for the use of the following: grandparent; parent;
spouse; registered domestic partner; child or lineal descendant of
a child; spouse of a child or a spouse of a lineal descendant of a
child; surviving spouse of a deceased child or of a deceased lineal
descendant of a child who was married to the child or lineal
descendant at the time of the child or lineal descendant’s death; a
brother or sister of the decedent; or a corporation, partnership, or
limited liability company if all stockholders, partners, or members
consist of the individuals named above;

1.

Life insurance benefits payable to any beneficiary other than
estate of the insured; 

2.

Grave maintenance up to $500 passing under a Will for the
perpetual upkeep of graves;

3.

Property passing to a non-profit organization which is exempt
from taxation under Section 501(c)(3) of the IRS Code or to which
transfers are deductible under Section 2055 of the IRS Code if it is
incorporated under laws of Maryland; conducts a substantial part
of its activities in Maryland or in the District of Columbia; or has
its principal place of business in a jurisdiction whose law contains
a reciprocal exemption;

4.

State, county, or municipal corporations;5.
Property administered under a Small Estate proceeding; 6.
Total property not exceeding $1,000 passing to any one person;7.
Personal property of a non-resident decedent, except for tangible
property located in Maryland; 

8.

Income, including gains and losses, accrued on probate assets
after the date of death of the decedent; and

9.

Joint primary residence that passes from a decedent to or for the
use of a “domestic partner” of a decedent within the meaning of
Section 6-101(a) of the Health-General Article.

10.

NOTE: Collateral Inheritance Tax at the rate of 10% applies to
distributions to persons or organizations not identified as exempt. 

HOW WILL MY ESTATE BE DISTRIBUTED
WITHOUT A WILL?

If the decedent is survived by:

Spouse or registered domestic partner and no children - the
spouse or registered domestic partner receives the entire net
estate

1.

Spouse or registered domestic partner and children, at least
one of whom is a minor - the spouse or registered domestic
partner receives one half of the net estate and the children divide
the remaining one half equally*

2.

Spouse or registered domestic partner and children, all of
whom are adults and are children of both the spouse or
registered domestic partner and the decedent - the spouse or
registered domestic partner receives the entire net estate

3.

Spouse or registered domestic partner and children, all of
whom are adults but at least one is not a child of both the
spouse or registered domestic partner and the decedent - the
spouse or registered domestic partner receives the first $100,000
plus one half of the remaining net estate, and the children divide
the remaining one half equally*

4.

Children only - the children divide net estate equally*5.
Surviving parent(s) only - parent or parents receive the entire
estate

6.

Surviving sibling(s) only - siblings divide net estate equally*7.
Grandparents without any other heirs listed above - the
grandparents divide net estate equally (if all grandparents
deceased, to issue of the grandparents)

8.

Stepchildren without any other heirs listed above -
stepchildren divide net estate equally*

9.

No living heirs or stepchildren - the entire net estate passes to
the Board of Education in the jurisdiction in which the estate is
opened, or to the Department of Health if the decedent received
long term care benefits under the Maryland Medical Assistance
Program

10.

* The share of a predeceased heir in these categories passes to
the issue of the predeceased heir.

NOTE: “Child” does not include a stepchild or foster child 

FOREIGN PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE
When the decedent died domiciled other than in Maryland owning real
property in Maryland at the time of death, the person appointed
Personal Representative in that jurisdiction shall file an Application by
Foreign Personal Representative to Set Inheritance Tax with the
Register of Wills in the county where the largest part in value of the
Maryland property is located. This form, which lists the necessary
requirements for filing, may be obtained from any Register of Wills in
Maryland. Fees, costs and any inheritance tax will be assessed by the
Register.

A PUBLICATION OF THE
REGISTERS OF WILLS 

OF MARYLAND

ESTATES AND TRUSTS LAWS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE
BY THE LEGISLATURE AT ANY TIME



Maryland law requires that the custodian of a document appearing
to be the Last Will and Testament (including any Codicil) of the
decedent shall file it promptly with the Register of Wills in the
county where the decedent was domiciled at the time of death,
even if it is not to be offered for probate.
Assets held in the decedent’s name alone (including interests held as a
tenant in common) must be reported to the Register of Wills. A
Personal Representative must be appointed by the Register or the
Orphans’ Court before disposing of any assets. When appointed,
Letters of Administration will be issued to the Personal Representative. 
Forms and procedures herein are mandated by Maryland Code and
Maryland Rules. (Forms are available from the Register of Wills Office
or at http://registers.maryland.gov.)

 
SMALL ESTATES 

Assets subject to administration valued at $50,000 or less ($100,000
if the spouse is the sole legatee or heir). Contact the Register for
values for date of death before October 1, 2012. Small Estate value is
determined by the fair market value of property less debts of record
secured by the property, as of the date of death, to the extent that
insurance benefits are not payable to the lien holder or secured party.

 
Petition for Probate  with  Schedule B —  Required appraisals
must be submitted. The value of each item shall be fairly
appraised as of the date of death. The Personal Representative
may appraise corporate stocks listed on a national or regional
exchange, over-the-counter securities, debts owed to the
decedent, accounts held at banking institutions, money, annuities
and life insurance payable to the estate. All other assets must be
appraised by a qualified, disinterested appraiser. (Contact the
Register for alternative procedures available for valuing real
property and vehicles.)

1.

List of  Interested Persons  listing  the  names  and addresses of
those named in the Will, if any, and those who would inherit if
there were no Will. (See “How Will My Property Be Distributed If I
Die Without A Will?”)

2.

Consent to Appointment of Personal Representative if the
person named in the Will, if any, or the person entitled to
appointment, is not applying.

3.

Appointment of Resident Agent if petitioner is not a Maryland
resident.                                                                      

4.

Proof of Execution of Will if the Will lacks an attestation clause.5.
Information Report listing any interest in assets that pass
outside the probate estate to a person or organization that is not
exempted from inheritance tax, such as, jointly held property,
retirement and payable on death accounts, transfers made within
two years of death, and trusts. Also reports real property not
located in Maryland.

6.

Notice of Appointment, Notice to Creditors, Notice to
Unknown Heirs designating an approved newspaper for
publication may be required for certain small estates. (Leave
dates blank, except date of death.)

7.

Bond (applicable in some estates)8.
Funeral bill or contract (suggested but not required)9.
Copy of death certificate (available from Division of Vital
Records) 

10.

Commissions are not available in a small estate.11.
 

REGULAR ESTATES
Assets subject to administration in excess of $50,000 ($100,000 if
the spouse is the sole legatee or heir). Contact the Register for
values for date of death before October 1, 2012. 

Petition for Probate with Schedule A 1.
Notice of Appointment, Notice to Creditors, Notice to
Unknown Heirs designating an approved newspaper for
publication (Leave dates blank except date of death)

2.

Bond (required by law)3.
Consent to Appointment of Personal Representative (only   
applicable if the person named in the Will, if any, or the person
entitled to appointment is not applying)

4.

Appointment of Resident Agent if petitioner is not a Maryland
resident

5.

Proof of Execution of Will if Will lacks attestation clause 6.
List of Interested Persons to include the names and addresses
of those named in the Will, if any, and those who would inherit if
there were no Will. See “How Will My Property be Distributed if I
Die Without a Will.” Must be filed within 20 days after
appointment of a Personal  Representative.

7.

Copy  of  death certificate (From Division of Vital Records) 8.
It is the duty of every Personal Representative or Special            
Administrator of a Regular Estate to timely file the following
documents in the Register of Wills office:
Inventory with Schedules - Within three months after the date of          
appointment, an inventory of property owned solely by the decedent
and   decedent’s interest in property held as a tenant in common. Each
item is to be listed in reasonably descriptive detail, indicating its fair
market value as of the decedent’s date of death. A personal
representative may appraise corporate stocks listed on a national or
regional exchange, over-the-counter securities, debts owed to the
decedent, accounts held at banking institutions, money, annuities and
life insurance payable to the estate, vehicles and real property. All
other assets must be appraised by qualified, disinterested appraisers. 
Information Report - Within three months after the date of
appointment  - (See No. 6 under Small Estates)
First Account - Within nine months after the date of appointment,  the
First Account must be filed. The Account includes the inventoried
assets and all financial activity of the administration. All receipts,
including income, sales and redemptions, disbursements, distributions
and list of assets remaining in the hands of the personal
representative must be reported. If real property is sold, a copy of the
closing disclosure  statement is required.
Subsequent Accounts - If the First Account is not a final, then      
subsequent accounts must be filed as required by law until the estate
is closed.
Petitions for Personal Representative’s Commission and  
Attorney’s Fees - Commissions and fees are subject to Court approval
unless: 1) each creditor who has filed a claim that is still open, and all
interested persons consent in writing to the payment; 2) the combined
sum of commissions and attorney’s fees does not exceed the amounts
provided below; 3) the signed consent form states the amounts of the
payments and is filed with the Register of Wills; 4) Unless the consent
form is filed simultaneously with the final administration account or
final report under a modified administration, each payment consented
to is for services rendered by the attorney or personal representative
prior to the date of consent.

PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE’S
COMMISSIONS AND ATTORNEY’S FEES

If the property subject to administration is not over $20,000, the
commission may not exceed 9%. If the property subject to
administration is over $20,000, the commission may not exceed
$1,800 plus 3.6% of the excess over $20,000.

 
Probate Fees - The following fees will be assessed at the time of filing
the First Account. Additional fees will be assessed when filing each
subsequent account if the probate estate increases. The value of the
probate estate is the sum of all Inventories, principal and income
receipts, and increases realized on a disposition, less decreases
realized (other than distribution to beneficiaries). While the probate fee
covers the cost of filing and recording documents in non-controversial
estates, additional fees will be charged in controversial estates and for
more than twelve Letters of Administration or two certified copies of
the Will. If the value of the probate estate is:

NOTE: Effective October 1, 2022, no fees are due on Small Estates
even if valued between $50,000 and $100,000 with a spouse as a
sole heir or legatee. 

MODIFIED ADMINISTRATION
Modified Administration is an option available to a Personal     
Representative within three months from the date of appointment. This
streamlined procedure, which is to be completed within twelve months,
is available if the residuary legatees or heirs in a Regular Estate are
limited to: 1) the personal representative; 2) individuals or entities
exempt from inheritance tax in the decedent’s estate under Section 7-
203(b), (e) and (f) of the Tax-General Article; and 3) trusts under which
each person who has a current interest in the trust is an individual or
entity exempt from inheritance tax in the decedent’s estate under
Section 7-203(b), (e) and (f) of the Tax-General Article. The estate must
be solvent and sufficient assets exist to satisfy all testamentary gifts.

CLAIMS
Commencing on appointment until the time for filing claims has
expired, the Personal Representative shall make a reasonably   diligent
effort to ascertain the names and addresses of the decedent’s
creditors and mail or otherwise deliver to them a copy of the Notice of
Appointment, Notice to Creditors, Notice to Unknown Heirs.

At Least: But Less Than: The Fee Is:

$0 $50,000 $0

$50,000 $100,000 $100

$100,000 $500,000 $200

$500,000 $1,000,000 $1,000

$1,000,000 $2,500,000 $2,000

$2,500,000 $5,000,000 $5,000

$5,000,000 $7,500,000 $7,500

$7,500,000 $10,000,000 $10,000

$10,000,000 OR MORE
$10,000 plus .02%

of excess over $10m


