
FOREIGN PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE 
 
When the decedent died domiciled other than in Maryland owning real 
property in Maryland at the time of death, the person appointed Personal 
Representative in that jurisdiction shall file an Application by Foreign 
Personal Representative to Set Inheritance Tax with the Register of Wills 
for the county where the largest part in value of the Maryland property is 
located.  This form, which lists the necessary requirements for filing, may be 
obtained from any Register of Wills Office in Maryland.  Probate fees, costs 
and inheritance taxes will be assessed by the Register. 
 

Commencing on appointment until the time for filing claims has 
expired, the Personal Representative shall make a reasonably diligent 

effort to ascertain the names and addresses of the decedent’s creditors 
and mail or otherwise deliver to them a copy of the Notice of 

Appointment—Notice to Creditors. 
 

INHERITANCE TAXES 
 

(Effective for persons dying on or after July 1, 2000. 
Different laws apply for persons dying prior to that date.) 

PROPERTY SUBJECT TO INHERITANCE TAX: 
  1. Property passing by Will or under the laws of intestacy 
  2. An interest as a joint owner in any real or personal property, including 

credit union, bank, or other financial institution accounts 
  3. A material part of the decedent’s property transferred by the decedent 

within two years of death (other than a bona fide sale) in the nature of a 
final disposition or distribution, including any transfer that resulted in joint 
ownership of property, if the transfer is made in contemplation of death 

  4. Property over which the decedent retained any dominion at the time of 
death, including a beneficial interest, a power of revocation, or a power 
of appointment by Will or otherwise.  This includes trusts, P.O.D. 
accounts, annuities or other public or private employee pension or 
benefit plans that are taxable for federal estate tax purposes, life estates 
and other interests less than absolute, in trust or otherwise 

 
EXEMPTIONS FROM INHERITANCE TAX: 
  1. Property that passes from a decedent to or for the use of a 

grandparent, parent, spouse, child or other lineal descendant, 
spouse of a child or other lineal descendant, stepparent, stepchild, 
brother or sister of the decedent, or a corporation if all of its 
stockholders consist of the surviving spouse, parents, stepparents, 
stepchildren, brothers, sisters, and lineal descendants of the 
decedent and spouses of the lineal descendants 

  2. Life insurance benefits not payable to the estate of the insured 
  3. Grave maintenance up to $500 passing under a Will for the perpetual 

upkeep of graves 
  4. Property passing to a non-profit organization which is exempt from 

taxation under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code if 
incorporated in Maryland or if there is a reciprocal agreement with 
the jurisdiction where the organization has its principal office 

  5. State, county or municipal corporations 
  6. Property administered under a Small Estate proceeding 
  7. Property passing to any one person not exceeding a total of $1,000 
  8. Personal property of a non-resident with the exception of tangible 

property located in Maryland 

  9. Income, including gains and losses, accrued on probate assets after 
the date of death of decedent (However, it is reportable to the State 
of Maryland as estate income.)  (#9 became effective January 1, 1998.) 

10. Effective 7/1/09 – TG 7-203 – (l) – Specified property that passes from a 
decedent to or for the use of a domestic partner of a decedent; etc. 

 
LINEAL TAX  RATE applies to distributions to lineal heirs or legatees 
from a decedent dying prior to July 1, 2000, and may be obtained by 
contacting the Register of Wills Office. 
 
 

COLLATERAL TAX RATE OF 10% applies to property passing to 
persons or organizations not identified as exempt.  If the decedent died 
prior to July 1, 2000, brothers and sisters are included in collateral, 
however, their rate varies and is determined by the date of death. 

 “How will my estate be distributed if 
I die without a Will?” 

 

IF THE DECEDENT IS SURVIVED BY: 

  1. Spouse and minor children of the decedent— 
spouse receives one-half, children share remaining one-half 

 2. Spouse and children (all adult) of the decedent—spouse receives 
$15,000 plus one-half of remaining estate—children divide balance 
(the interest of a predeceased child passes to issue of that child) 

 3. Children only of the decedent—children (does not include step-
children) divide entire estate (the interest of a predeceased child 
passes to issue of that child) 

 4. Spouse and parents of the decedent— 
spouse receives $15,000 plus one-half of remaining estate—both 
parents divide balance or surviving parent takes balance 

 5. Spouse of the decedent without other heirs listed above—
spouse receives entire estate 

 6. Parents of the decedent without other heirs listed above—both 
parents divide entire estate or surviving parent takes all 

 7. Brothers/sisters of the decedent without heirs listed above—
brothers and sisters divide estate equally (share of deceased sibling 
goes to their issue—nieces and nephews of the decedent) 

 8. Grandparents without other heirs listed above—grandparents 
divide entire estate or, if deceased, to their issue (see applicable law 
for details) 

 9. Great-grandparent without other heirs listed above—great-
grandparents divide entire estate or, if deceased, to their issue (see 
applicable law for details) 

10. Step-children—if there are no heirs listed above 
11. No living heirs or step-children—If decedent was a recipient of 

long-term care benefits under the Maryland Medical Assistance 
Program at time of death, net estate is paid to Department of Health 
and Mental Hygiene.  Otherwise, the net estate is paid to the Board 
of Education. 

All references to “Estate or Administration”, only control assets that are in 
the decedent’s name alone or as tenants in common. 

Administration of Estates 
in Maryland 

 

 

Prepared by the 

Register of Wills Association 
 

 The purpose of this publication is to better 
inform the general public of procedural 
matters involved in the administration of 
estates.  Nothing contained herein is intended 
to advise anyone as to the legal remedies for 
a particular circumstance. The Register of 
Wills and employees may assist with the 
necessary forms but cannot render legal 
advice.  It is hoped that this brochure will be 
useful to you in answering general questions 
on how to proceed with the administration of 
an estate. 
 

REVISED AS OF OCTOBER 1, 2012, AND EFFECTIVE 
FOR PERSONS DYING ON OR AFTER THAT DATE 

UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED.  VARYING LAWS MAY 
APPLY FOR PERSONS DYING PRIOR THERETO. 

ESTATES AND TRUSTS LAWS ARE SUBJECT 
TO CHANGE BY THE LEGISLATURE AT ANY TIME. 

 

http://registers.maryland.gov 
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Maryland law requires that the custodian of a document appearing to 
be the last Will (including Codicils, if any) of the decedent shall file it 
promptly with the Register of Wills in the county where the decedent 
was domiciled at the time of death, even if it is not to be offered for 
probate.  When there are any assets in the decedent’s name alone 
(including interests held as a tenant-in-common), they must be reported 
to the Register of Wills.  A Personal Representative must be appointed 
by the Register of Wills or the Orphans’ Court before disposing of any 
assets.  When appointed, Letters of Administration will be issued to the 
Personal Representative. 
 

Forms and procedures herein are mandated by Maryland Code and 
Maryland Rules. (Forms are available from the Register of Wills Office.) 
 

SMALL ESTATES 
Assets subject to administration valued at $50,000 or less 

($100,000 if the spouse is the sole legatee or heir) 
 

(FOR PERSONS DYING ON OR AFTER JANUARY 1, 1998 ONLY, Small Estate 
value is determined by the fair market value of property less debts of record 
secured by the property, as of the date of death, to the extent that insurance 
benefits are not payable to the lien holder or secured party for secured debt.) 

 

1. Petition for Probate with Schedule B attached 
(Required appraisals must be submitted.  The value of each item 
shall be fairly appraised as of the date of death.  The Personal 
Representative may appraise corporate stocks listed on a national or 
regional exchange or over-the-counter securities, debts owed to the 
decedent, bank accounts, building or savings and loan association 
shares, and money.  All other assets must be appraised by qualified  
disinterested appraisers.  For persons dying on or after January 1, 
1998, an alternate procedure is available for valuing real estate.) 

2. List of Interested Persons listing the names and addresses of 
those named in the Will, if any, and those who would inherit if there 
were no Will.  (See  “How Will My Property Be Distributed If I Die 
Without A Will?” ) 

3. Consent to Appointment of Personal Representative (Only 
applicable if the person named in the Will, if any, or the person 
entitled to appointment, is not applying.) 

4. Appointment of Resident Agent if petitioner is not a Maryland 
resident 

5. Proof of Execution of Will if Will lacks an attestation clause 
6. Information Report listing trusts, jointly held property, retirement 

and P.O.D. accounts, gifts made within two years of death, other 
non-probate property, and real property not located in Maryland 

7. Notice of Appointment ~ Notice to Creditors designating an 
approved newspaper for publication may be required for certain small 
estates. (Leave dates blank except date of death.) 

8. Bond (Required in certain small estates.) 
9. Paid funeral bill 

 10. Copy of death certificate (available from Division of Vital Records) 
 11. Commissions are not available under a Small Estate administration. 
 12. Petition for Probate with Schedule C attached 
 A request for a Limited Order to locate the Assets or locate the Will 

requires the name, address and a statement as to why the limited 
order is necessary. The limited order will either allow the search for 
assets titled in the name of the decedent or the entrance of the safe 
deposit box in the presence of the Register of Wills or authorized 
deputy to locate the Will for delivery to the office.  

 

Fees will be assessed according to the following schedule.  If more than 
four Letters of Administration are required, an additional fee of $1.00 each 
will be charged.  The estate shall pay the expense of mailing the Notice of 
Appointment.  Fees shall be assessed on the value of the small estate at 
the following rates: 

Greater than:   But no more than:  The Fee is: 
$            ---            $           200       $   2

200         5,000      1% of the 
    value of the small estate 

See Regular Estate Probate Fee for 
 Small Estates in excess of $5,000 
 
 

REGULAR ESTATES 
Assets subject to administration in excess of $50,000 

($100,000 if the spouse is the sole legatee or heir) 
 

1. Petition for Probate with Schedule A attached 
2. Notice of Appointment ~ Notice to Creditors designating an 

approved newspaper for publication (Leave dates blank except date 
of death.) 

3. Bond (Required by law. )* 
4. Consent to Appointment of Personal Representative (Only 

applicable if the person named in the Will, if any, or the person 
entitled to appointment, is not applying.) 

5. Appointment of Resident Agent if petitioner is not a Maryland 
resident 

6. Proof of Execution of Will if Will lacks attestation clause 
7. List of Interested Persons** (names and addresses of those 

named in the Will, if any, and those who would inherit if there were 
no Will as set forth in “How Will My Property Be Distributed If I Die 
Without A Will?” ) 

8. Copy of death certificate (available from Division of Vital Records) 
 

*In Judicial Probate, this form must be filed immediately after the Court 
appoints a Personal Representative or a Special Administrator. 
**Must be filed (a) within 20 days after appointment of a Personal 
Representative under Administrative Probate, or (b) at the time of filing a 
Petition for Judicial Probate. 
 

It is the duty of every Personal Representative or Special 
Administrator of a regular estate to timely file the following 
documents in the Register of Wills Office: 
 

Inventory and Information Report—WITHIN THREE MONTHS from 
date of appointment, a complete Inventory with Schedules and an 
Information Report (see #6 under Small Estates) along with the required 
appraisals, must be submitted.  The value of each item shall be fairly 
appraised as of the date of death and stated in the Inventory.  The 
Personal Representative may appraise corporate stocks listed on a 
national or regional exchange or over-the-counter securities, debts owed 
to the decedent, bank accounts, building or savings and loan association 
shares, and money.  All other assets must be appraised by qualified 
disinterested appraisers. (For persons dying on or after January 1, 1998, 
an alternate procedure is available for valuing real estate.) 
 

First Account—WITHIN NINE MONTHS from the date of appointment, 
the First Account must be filed.  The Account must include the inventoried 
assets and all activity of the administration.  All receipts, including 

income, sales and redemptions, disbursements, distributions, and value 
of assets remaining in the hands of the Personal Representative must be 
reported. Documentation of transactions is required. 
 

Subsequent Accounts—MUST BE FILED as required by law until the 
estate is closed. 

Petitions for Personal Representative Commissions and Attorneys 
Fees—Fees and commissions are subject to Court approval UNLESS the 
person died on or after January 1, 1998 AND (1) each creditor, who has 
filed a claim that is still open, and all interested persons consent in writing 
to the payment; (2) the combined sum of commissions and attorneys fees 
does not exceed the amounts provided below; and (3) the signed written 
consent form states the amounts of the payments and is filed with the 
Register of Wills.  Commissions are computed as follows: 

If the property subject        The commission 
to administration is:        may not exceed: 
    Not over $20,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  9.0% 
    Over $20,000   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $1,800 plus  

      3.6% of the excess over $20,000 
 

Fees—The following fees will be assessed at the time of filing the First 
Account.  Additional fees will be assessed when filing each subsequent 
Account if the probate estate increases.  The value of the probate estate 
is the sum of all Inventories, principal and income receipts, and increases 
realized on a disposition, less decreases realized (other than a 
distribution to beneficiaries).  While the probate fee covers the cost of 
filing and recording documents in non-controversial estates, additional 
fees will be charged in controversial estates and for more than twelve 
Letters of Administration or two certified copies of the Will.  The estate 
shall pay the expense of mailing the Notice of Appointment.  If the value 
of the probate estate is  

At least:    But less than:   The Fee is: 
$        0  $  10,000  $     50 

     10,000          20,000     100 
     20,000    50,000     150 
     50,000    75,000     200 
     75,000         100,000     300 
   100,000         250,000     400 
   250,000         500,000     500 
   500,000         750,000     750 
   750,000      1,000,000         1,000 
1,000,000      2,000,000         1,500 
2,000,000      5,000,000         2,500 
5,000,000                       -------                   2,500 plus 

                                                       .02% of excess over $5,000,000            

MODIFIED ADMINISTRATION 

For persons dying on or after October 1, 1997, Modified Administration is 
an option available to a Personal Representative within three months from 
the date of appointment.  The process, which is to be completed within 
twelve months, is available only if all residuary legatees or heirs are 
exempt from inheritance tax or the decedent’s personal representative  
and all trustees of any trusts are limited to the decedents Personal 
Representative, spouse and children, and if the estate is solvent and 
sufficient assets exist to satisfy all testamentary gifts.  All of the stated 
persons must file a written consent. The Personal representative must file 
an Election and written consent. (Forms may be obtained from the Register of Wills.)  
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